Kindling Hope

Woke to a bright sunny morning, but the hour change meant it was dark when we came back from our Lula walk, and the darkness feels more appropriate for this day when a man who espouses hate, rape, murder, and intensifying the destruction of our planet, won the election in Brazil, the country where I've lived most of my life, where two of my children were born, and home to so many I love.

One of those, my friend Eloá, shared this quote by Archbishop Hélder Câmara (my translation):

Allow me to kindle hope a hundred times, a thousand times, a million times, hope that perverse and strong winds do their best to extinguish. What a great and beautiful profession - a lighter of hope!

May we all take up that profession, it will be needed in the days ahead...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.