Sporticus

By don_T

Track Cycling World Cup Day 3

I was up early, taught yoga to a large class in the huge gym, then swam my laps at the pool, and on to volunteer duty at the Tissot Indoor Cycling championship. 55 counties, 320+ athletes, 240+ support (coaches, managers, physio/massage, bike mechanics). This was day 3 of the World Cup. We came early to watch before our shift (& it was a good thing as I was moved from my prime position right on the track where I had the best view). I was relocated to Accreditation and handled payouts of the prize money to the winners. We took a few pics pre-shift including the 'Love Travels World' sign, and we were so lucky to catch team USA out for a peloton/team pursuit practice. The other 2 photos are the men's sprint final awards presentation and the #staystrongkristina sign was signed by Canadians & others. A year ago we were honored to watch 9 time world champion Kristina Vogel compete & win the women's sprints. She suffered an accident this spring while training and is recovering- it is a huge loss to the world cycling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.