Doggy School

Jonty is loving being back at doggy school. We go to Stonehouse Dog Training Club and he started attending when he was only about 3 months old. He is now 11 and had a gap of 4 years because I got busy doing other things, he had achieved his Gold Good Citizen Dog Award and I thought he just doesn't need it any longer.
However, a few months ago I gave in to the calls for us to pop in because people were asking Linda, the club secretary, if she knew how we were and would we come to visit etc......
Jonty was on tenterhooks when we went to visit and I was sitting talking to a couple of people. He obviously wanted to get on with it and join in the class, which we did on the hour when the next class started. The only thing he won't do that he was pretty good at is the retrieve, just doesn't see the point any longer in me throwing something and him going to pick it up to bring it back to me, chances are I'm going to throw it again and to hell with that!
He immediately impressed everyone with the 'scent' task, picking up my cloth and brining it back, all of the close walking, sitting, down, stay, wait, all were still in his little brain and so I joined up again and we've been going ever since apart from the odd week when we couldn't make it.
You've got to be careful though. If we inadvertently say the words 'Doggy School' when it's not a time to go to it Jonty still runs to the front door and waits, in anticipation, of me getting the bag, the lead and the back of cut up sausage of course which I use as treats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.