Tiny Tuesday . . . STAMEN

I bought one flower from the truss of flowers on rhododendron Lemon Lodge inside to photograph because it has rained most of the day. I went up and down the apertures and settled on this image at f16 because I wanted to clearly see the stamen and didn't want dreamy or artistic today.  It has 14 stamen which to me look like little aliens.  There seems to be two openings on the anthers from which the pollen comes out.  I'm no botanist that's just what I think I'm seeing :-)
Thank you Walking Wombat for being an active and amusing host this month.  I think you gave wonderful feedback to us TT addicts.

I could have titled this shaking stamen.  There was a strong earthquake as I was taking my images.  It went for so long and the house was rocking and rolling.  I actually went and stood outside.  It is the strongest I have felt since I experienced an after shock in Christchurch.  The glasses in the cabinet rattled but nothing broke.  There have been no other quakes since so I am calming down now.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.