IN FOCUS

Snapped in the rain on my way home from the optician, where my eyes were pronounced to be healthy and free from any incipient gremlins - at least for the time being. I still need specs though, and I've decided to give varifocals a go because I'm getting sick of having different pairs dotted around the house, car and handbags and constantly taking them on and off to read labels, take photos, work on the screen and almost everything else. The price I've paid is a good incentive for me to get used to them when they arrive, which I gather can take a bit of time.

And on the subject of prices, when Beloved C and I first thought about moving north from the leafy Home Counties, the first house we looked at was the tower house towards the left of this blip (in the thumbnail). We really wanted it though it was far too big - had been used as a hostel, but only just over our budget, and still far cheaper than a lock-up garage in some parts of London (literally). It has since been divided into three flats, but was a very tempting prospect when it was just one big house. (Far too much work needed, though.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.