A REAL Lumberjack

Although I would never shoot a deer except with a camera...I do like to join the deer hunters of my family in the annual tradition of not shaving for the month of November.

The day after we sent away the trick-or-treaters...I put my razor away. Here is the result. It's nothing that would qualify for a beard contest...but...it is rich and full, and ...to be honest...I'm quite proud of it. Makes me want to grab an ax, and attack a tree.

A-c-t-u-a-l-l-y...the background is an ad from a magazine that has been sitting on our downstairs coffee table. I hate to admit it...but...it's the latest issue of Good Housekeeping. The headlines read...Spend a little, GIVE A LOT!!, and... Holiday Cookies Made Easy. (Don't tell anyone, but I'll glance at the cookie recipes.)

I imposed my upper face into the lumberjacks face. I tried to do the lips separately, but gave up after 2 attempts.

The picture sets my imagination a-runnin. I think I would have made a good lumberjack. Independent, sturdy, outdoorsy, dirty, smelly, not afraid to get my hands grimy, and comfortable around an ax and a chainsaw.

HA! Who am I kidding? I couldn't go anywhere without my mom until I was almost 20. My hands have been, and always will be, as soft as a babies behind. And...I've got a 50 dollar ELECTRIC chain saw that I've used once. No REAL MAN uses an electric chain saw!!

I don't think I'd like the beard. Always makes me wonder what sorts of little bugs are living in there, and...I'm happy with my short white hair. A comb I rarely use. Usually just a little spit in my hand to pat down the cowlicks.

HEY! That last sentence almost sounded lumberjacky. Maybe I could do it.

The ad was for Pinetastic. Supposed to make your artificial tree smell like it came out of the woods. I wonder if they make anything to turn those white branches green?

Still feeling a little punky. Made some more turkey soup, and just taking it easy. Thanks for your well wishes. I hate having a cold. No fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.