The wee ferry

This afternoon, before picking Mrs M up from the town, I thought I'd drive down to Ganavan beach to see if any good pictures were to be had. As I drove along, the 'Loch Linnhe', on its way to Lismore, was approaching the red and white lighthouse at the mouth of the bay and I drove faster in order to get ahead of it. I just made it and managed to get a picture. You can see the first scattering of snow on the hills of Mull.

As luck would have it though, at that moment the sun went in and the whole sky was covered with thick clouds which have remained for the rest of the day. I had a walk at Ganavan, but like many people, I think that the beach, which I understand was given to the people of Oban, is now rather spoilt. I'm not sure of the details, but quite a sizeable chunk of it was built on, luxury houses which ruined the view for all for the pleasure of a few. I remember a pavilion there which used to cater for various functions. Somebody will probably put me right on this, but I understand that most folk think it shouldn't have happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.