Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

PACKING

I'm off to Andalucia on Saturday morning for a mindful photography retreat and am just beginning to assemble all the paraphernalia. I booked this treat for myself in the very worst patch of a very challenging year, working on the principle that my first priority was to care for myself so I'd be strong enough to care for others. The most distressing period has now passed, so I feel a wee bit selfish indulging in a whole week for myself - but hey, it's all  booked and it would be churlish to turn it down now.

Photography for me has always been about being mindful, not about the image itself, but I have been less engaged with a camera for a long time and am hoping to recharge my energy and interest. I have only been on a distance learning photography course before, so am looking forward to having a tutor at hand to help me learn.  I am such a slow learner.  

I was asked to complete a questionnaire in advance of the course and I share my answers here.  I found the process interesting: 

About your photography
What is it that you love about making pictures?
I started taking pictures about seven years ago, primarily as a mindfulness practice.  It helps me to slow down, notice what is happening around me and appreciate the ordinary everyday presentations.  Photography helps me do this and even when I am not photographing, I see things more clearly than before.
 
How would you describe the level of competence your photography has reached?
Fairly basic! Although I have taken a photography course with the OU and understand the basics of the technology, I find it hard to remember how to adjust settings and don’t always have the confidence to go off manual.  I have been a bit lazy recently, using my phone most of the time while my DSLR gathers dust.  I have therefore lost confidence and ability.
 
What prevents you from making the photographs you would like to make?
I’d love to do more portraiture because I find people so interesting, but lack the technical knowledge and also the confidence to approach people. 
 
I love micro photography – particularly capturing invertebrates and flowers, but lack the technical knowledge to ensure I have a good depth of field, recording details. 
 
Can you think of an artist of photographer whose work really inspires you?  What do you love about the work?
I follow a number of amateur photographers on Blipfoto whose work speaks to me.  These include weefleckyKendallishereandEarthdreamer. I’m inspired by their awareness of their surroundings and their passion for photographic journaling.   
 
Recently I took a course in abstract painting, and am inspired by Rothko.  I love his shimmering blocks of colour and how they immerse the viewer so that one just stares and stares.  I’d like to be able to create photographs that did that!
 
Do you have any favourite genres of styles in photography? What are they and what do you love about then?
I like macro photography because I find noticing the detail in close work helps me see and appreciate. I also like photo journaling and used to journal regulary on Blipfoto, where I am known as Growing Old Disgracefully(GOD). 
 
About working together
What do you feel that you can achieve on the workshop?
I hope to rekindle my interest in making pictures.   I have a busy and sometimes stressful life caring for others, so making pictures has not been a priority for me for some time.  I am looking forward to an opportunity to pursue an activity that I enjoy for its restorative effects.  I would like to regain confidence, learn new approaches and kick start my photo journaling again. 
 
What could we work on right now that would make the biggest difference to your photography?
Just taking the decision to sign up for the course has increased my motivation to make pictures again.   I now need to get over the block and just do it!
 
If you were your own coach, what would you do tomorrow?
I’d say to myself, get your camera out of the drawer and spend some time reacquainting yourself with the controls then get out there and make pictures – without caring too much about the end result. I’d also say – spend some time in an art gallery and look at others’ images for inspiration.
 
When our work is complete, how has your photography improved? How do you feel about this? (Answer this question in the present as if you have already achieved it)
I’m getting more good images straight out of the camera, rather than having to spend time editing out problems in framing, focus and exposure.  
 
My photographs have become images that I and others want to look at more than once. 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.