Zither

Yesterday Jan posted a picture of Karin playing the zither. It's a really impressive instrument and I decided a close up of the tuning end shows off some of the beauty.
The basic tuning is done using the black metal studs and a key, rather like a harp. The white plastic beads can be moved to do the final tuning.
Zithers are a traditional folk instrument and could (can) be built fairly easily (and cheaply) using available materials. This means they are often a little "rough and ready", so seeing this finely crafted instrument, built with beautiful materials, was something of a revelation. It sounds as good as it looks.
I was walking around a bit more today, packed my stuff for England, and even drove to town. I'm not exactly darting and dodging around but I think my back has recovered enough that the journey to the UK will go OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.