The Farm

You can't tell from this far away, but...trust me...the green sign on the front lawn identifies this farm as a centennial farm...a farm that has been in the same family for over a hundred years.

The date under THE FARM (on the barn) is 1898. 120 years of being run by the same family.

I'm going to take you back to 1898...to hear the "name that farm" conversation between Ben and Betty Baker (two made-up names.)

BEN: "Oh my darling Betty, we have to have a name for our new spread. Any ideas?"

BETTY: "I like to keep things simple Ben. How about The Farm?"

BEN: "Are you serious Cupcake? I was thinking of raising some exotic fowl, and calling it Ben's Guinea Hens."

BETTY: "Again Ben...simple. How about The Farm?"

BEN: "It's just not right Sweetums. How about we raise wheat, and make our own pasta. We'll call the place Bettie's Spaghetti."

BETTY: "I don't want to sound like an old mother hen, but...The Farm is just fine with me...Ben."

BEN: "One last try Betty. How about we use our last name...and call it Baker's Acres? Huh? Huh?"

BETTY: "I'd do it myself...if heights didn't make me faint. So, you better get moving...you've got a barn to paint. The Farm it is."

So, now we know where the old saying comes from. Happy wife...happy life. It must have worked...120 years in the same family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.