In the offing

So, this year's first trip away is getting closer and closer (flying to Lisbon on Monday 2nd March for four nights).

The internet proved a good source of general background information about the city, which was of great help when it came to booking accommodation. I'd hoped to get a tourist pack from the Portuguese embassy, and intended calling in to them to enquire about what might be available. The address details on their web site weren't especially helpful, though, failing to indicate what part of the city they're situated in. I've sent an email asking for something to be posted out, but in the mean time I found this helpful guide book on Monday while browsing for reading material in Hodges Figgis book shop.

Comments left by people who previously stayed where we'll be mention that other renters have left tourist material behind, and there's always the local tourist office to turn to for help. In the mean time, this guide makes fascinating reading, and builds up enthusiasm for this city which is so far unknown to me. I'll be busy for the next two weeks with the quarterly magazine that tends to keep me fully occupied while it's in preparation. I've already told the client that I'll sign-off will need to be on on the Friday before we go away. I can see myself being busy, busy, busy right u to the last minute. Unwinding in Lisbon will be all the more welcome after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.