Flower Friday: Experimenting with "Freelensing"!

Regular followers of my blip journal will know that I rather like experimenting. Well recently I've liked the dreamy effect in some flower photos posted by fellow blippers using a lensbaby instead of their normal lens. Not having one (not yet anyway!) I looked for an alternative, and read about the technique of "freelensing" - where you take the lens off the camera but hold it very close, angling it as you wish. This can produce rather similar effects, and also allows some stray light into the camera to produce a degree of haze.

This is what I've done here - the only post processing has been to add some "dehaze" in Lightroom and tweak the shadows, highlights and vibrance a little. I quite like the result, although I expect it may be a bit Marmite-like: you will probably like it or hate it!

I'm intrigued that when you look at it in detail there's a faint very fine grid pattern on it - I'm wondering what has produced this. Could it be to do with fine mesh masks in the sensor, with light falling on it from a direction from which it's not supposed to I wonder? Does anyone know? Even more intriguing is that it's more obvious when I load the photo into the Windows "Photo" app than when viewed in the more old-fashioned "Microsoft Office Picture Manager".

(Note: I know that removing the camera lens for any length of time can result in dust getting onto the sensor. I took care to keep the camera, which was on the tripod, pointing down all the time and to do it indoors! I also popped the lens back on promptly after every exposure so hopefully I've not accumulated too much sensor dust!)

Thanks as always to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.