Rhododendron Festival

Today was the biggest of the year for Blackheath.

I sold raffle tickets at the Art Show for a while then hung out with the grandchildren. It was the first Rhododendron Festival they have been to.
The wood chopping intrigued them. I asked Hugh if he would like to do it in a few years and he said "might". I think that was a definite yes.

The parade aint what it used to be due to all the O,H & S restrictions these days but was still a good turnout.

Despite the best parental intentions you can't stop little boys being fascinated by (toy) guns on which they spent their pocket money. And ours weren't the only ones. Other mums were also shaking their heads resignedly.

I wasn't concentrating on photography much so without any particularly exciting shots I've made a collage.

PS. The woodchopper here is local boy, Brad De Losa, who was the world wood chopping champion in 2013.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.