lastlight

By lastlight

Okay guys - brace yourself for some serious feels... this is a lovely story.

I sold two pieces recently, ballpoint pen drawings of RedCross dogs on a Red Cross letter from 1969.
Turns out that they were purchased by a lovely couple for a special reason. I’ll let them tell you why in their own words...

“I bought this as a gift for my danish medic girlfriend whom I met in Iraq. I was a military canine handler at the time working with a border collie in fact, so your art work has a very special meaning to both of us.
We have a long distance relationship between Denmark and Australia due to our military service, so we have decided that we will have one in each of our homes until we finally move in together.
The drawings mean a lot to us as it symbolises how we met (through my border collie, a military working dog - in Iraq).
To met there from opposite sides of the world , the medic and the dog handler.
In closing we just wanted to again say just how much your art work has meant to us!”

How amazing a love story is that?!? Lump in the throat kinda stuff.
Their story just cuts to the heart of why people appreciate and buy art - it’s all about making a connection, often one that I can’t even imagine at the time of working.

S & J - I wish you many many many years of happiness together! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.