Journal of Jackie

By Jackie18

Hope

I haven't known whether to carry on with blip since Rafi had a devastating brain haemorrhage on the 11th of November.
Before he went in for surgery we were told there was a high chance he wouldn't survive.
This picture shows that he pulled through despite the odds and is now at the beginning of a very long road to recovery. I thought blip would be a great way to record his progress.
He moved from intensive care yesterday to a neuroscience ward where he will receive rehabilitation.
At this point in time his consciousness is fairly transient. He is breathing for himself via a tracheostomy.When he is most awake his eyes are open and he can focus a little. He is able to squeeze your hand when you ask and wigggle his toes.
He was hoisted into a chair today. He stayed awake long enough for me to show him some of the many get well cards he has received. He was just dropping back off to sleep when I asked if he could open his eyes so I could take a picture for my blip. Amazingly he opened his eyes again, but I was a bit slow taking the picture and so this shot doesn't do him justice.
I have been living in the hospital since Rafi came in thanks to a charity called The Sick Childrens Trust which provides accomodation for parents, it has taken some of the stress out of the situation and enabled me to be with Rafi without having to travel home and back everyday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.