Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Poppy

The pigeons were up and cooing happily in their nests at 05:15 this morning, but it's Saturday and for the first time in goodness knows how many weeks I did not have specific times to be in specific places. So I had a bit of a lie-in and didn't leap excitedly out of bed until 06:45. I still had a bit of a wait before Wickes would open and so I luxuriated in a full pot of coffee.

I decided, since the pale woven backing showed the stains which had traversed the full depth of the rug more than the fluffy red side, to use the best part of the rug upside down in the bathroom, and the part which had suffered greater damage, fluffy side up on the steps. A helpful member of staff at Wickes advised me to use high-tack double-sided carpet tape and so I have. Lots of it. I'm pretty sure it's not going to slip anywhere.

Then, when Emmaus opened, I returned with determination and my tape measure. I had already measured all doors and windows and the widest opening I can achieve is 720mm, which would involve taking two doors off their hinges. Without removing doors I have a maximum aperture of 695mm. At Emmaus I removed all detachable parts from the armchair, and then measured it at its smallest possible wide point, which is 720mm. I'm going for it.

Clay offered to drop the price from £35 to £30, but delivery would remain at £15. I was going to bung them £50 anyway, but if they choose to make that £20 for delivery that's up to them. Clay thanked me and I thanked him back.

I've done a little test and I can get the doors off by myself, but I have let Clay know that I will probably need his driver, Tom, to help me put them back on again. Delivery is booked for next Saturday morning and I am very excited.

The bathroom floor is still a W-i-P, but both the rug and I need to rest a while before proceeding any further. It works, and that is the point.

Separately I have been to see the “first Saturday in the month farmers' market”. It has one farmer selling fruit, veg and eggs, another selling bacon, a French geezer wiz an outrageous accent selling cheese, pate and fois gras (I was sorely tempted but even at half price I don't spend that much on food!) and everything else was soap, nick-nacks, fudge, jam and cakes. You can tell it's held indoors! Not a welly boot to be seen!

I bought a poppy. I've never bought a poppy before. In my ignorance I thought that they glorified war, but I know better than that now. I can't bear the thought of all that suffering and all those sacrifices being spat in the face of by Brexit. Mine is a white enamel disc with “Thank You” written across it in blue and with a little red poppy so tiny you could mistake it for a heart, and around the edge in tiny lettering it reads “All who served, sacrificed and changed the world”.

Perhaps I should re-see my stair carpet as poppy-red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.