Above Duror

Working in dense forest above the village; I spooted this web in the sunshine but just had the phone with me.

Along the track from here I found a really unusual feature. I noticed a dark bank to a burn. It looked like one of those big eroded hollows that develop in granualr deposits, Looking closer it was actually an opening, the water flowing under a deep natural bridge but it didn't seem to be emerging again. On top of the bridge at the far side there was a deep pit and at the bottom of that hole a totally black orifice which was swallowing the stream. I looked onward maybe 100m downhill left and right. There was no sign of the water resurfacing,
My curiosity wasn't raised to the desire of taking up pot holing, though thinking about it, one of the best attractions for those in to such things exists just a few miles south of here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.