What Do I See

By MatthewHicks

Frank Turner

I have been excited about this for a week or two, and a little cautious in saying anything in case it didn't happen.

I managed to get a photo pass for Frank Turner's gig in Oxford (thank you Frank!) and had the opportunity to go down into the pit and photograph his gig. A few rules. No flash, no photography in the first song, photos in songs 2, 3 and 4 only, then out of the pit. You can photograph from outside the pit afterwards to your heart's content. Seemed like fair rules to me,. but put the pressure on!

Frank played for a good 1 1/2 hours solid. Half his band are from Oxford so it made for a really lively night and everyone was well and truly in the spirit. It really was a bloody good gig, genuinely excellent. It must be something to be able to get 1000 people all having a great time.

What did I learn? Spot metering probably resulted in way too many blown out shots. High ISO is king (3200 or 6400), don't be afraid of it. The widest aperture you can get, ideally a couple of bodies if you wish to change lenses (not an option for me). Accept the light is going to change.

This picture may change later on, as and when I get a chance to edit some, but too up on the whole thing to not get a picture up as soon as I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.