BRIANW

By BRIANW

Never Going To Be A Rock God, Maidstone

Decided to go on a longer run for the first time in ages. It was great to get out into the countryside in the early morning light, breath some fresh air (London is not known for it!) and stretch my limbs a bit. The shocker, though, was how unfit I felt towards the end. I really need to get my arse in gear and run more. Although knackered at the end I did get a strange sense of an achievement hard won. More practice should make it easier - and I alway look forward to a long soak in a hot bath afterwards!
After a lie down and a bit of a snooze it was off into town (we walked in along by the river - quiet, soothing and gently paced  - my knees were a bit stiff from the run!) to do some present shopping for my sister. We then decided to have a healthy lunch - hot dog and fries washed down with a beer - bliss!
On the way to catch the bus home we passed a really old-fashioned music shop with guitars glinting in the windows. I'm fascinated by musicians and the wonderful sounds they can generate, they way they can create something jaw-droppingly brilliant  that can lift your soul or bring you to tears. I was never going to be a rock god as I'm totally tone deaf, which makes me admire musicians and their creations all the more.
Growing up I had some terrible taste in music but I do remember being totally awestruck by Blondie and Talking Heads. I thought Debbie Harry was one of the most charismatic, cool, exciting (and sexy - well I was a teenage boy!!) lead singers I had ever seen. The wonderful thing is their music still stands up so beautifully now. With Talking Heads it was that  very singular, muscular, propulsive sound that I loved and the brilliant lyrics. I would have loved to have been able to see both bands at CBGB's when they were in their pomp, but I still have their superb music to listen to whenever I like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.