Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Sea Swim November

That Red Dress. Saw it. Did a double take. Went into shop. Tried it on. Fitted perfectly. Loved it. Asked shop assistant what price (worryingly there was no price tag on it).

Six hundred and Eighty Five Euro - she said.

I coughed. I spluttered. I nearly fell down

(685 is what I spend on clothes in one year maybe)

Ehmmm I said

I go back into cubicle and take it off and hope I don’t break the damn zip.

Thank you I say as I exit stage left.

685 euros - I am a bit crazy at times but I ain’t stupid.

Anyhoo. The party was great. Disco Dancing til 2

But forget all that stuff

Now for the good stuff.

I played 3 sets of tennis at 10 this morning and then I booted down to Bray and swam in the icy icy waters there.

But seriously parties and red dresses are all grand and have their place. But give me that big sky, the cool salty water, big Bray Head with the DART winding its way around in and out of the tunnels, the craic with the other 12 swimmers today. Well that’s me in a nutshell really.

(Thanks for nice comments and stars and hearts for the red dress - but it’s back on the stand in the window WITH A PRICE TAG OF 685 - HOT DAMN)

Ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.