misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Autumn in my West Garden

The Scarlet Oak tree leaves were yellow two days ago. It made me wonder if something about the weather changes we are having was doing something to it. Scarlet to winter Brown is how its leaves usually go. But this beautiful sunny day made me see the leaves actually going to red right before my eyes... or so it seemed.
This is the west side of my garden. We have had so much rain lately that I cannot go out into much of it because the grass is boggy.
I am pleased with how the landscape is filling out, however. It was only grass and that single much smaller oak tree when I moved here 10 years ago. It is fulfilling to see my imagined garden become a reality.
I think we are reaching the height of the tree changing here in Central NY State. Quite a beautiful time of year. And to think, here we are in November and there is no snow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.