Colliding Worlds

I walked along 26th July Street in Cairo this splendidly warm and sunny November day to the Marriott Hotel to meet Professor Alberto Ribera, the academic director for coaching at IESE Business School, Barcelona, with whom I collaborate closely and who has read my book on Egypt.

I found myself thinking that it'd be fun to bump into Yasheen, our flower-boy friend, who features in the book (and is a regular in this journal).   No sooner had the thought occurred to me than I heard my name being called.   I looked round and there was Yasheen, himself, bounding along the street with more flowers than I have ever seen him carry and the broadest of smiles to complete the happy picture.

We caught up, as well we could without an interpreter, and know that we will have a longer catch up soon.  
How weird but wonderful to see both Yasheen and Alberto at different ends of the same street!  Worlds colliding, indeed!

Extra has shot of lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.