Fears

We keep waiting for the owners to fix up Mock Crest house; someone lives here, but upkeep is nowhere to be found. I suppose there's some clever state-of-the-nation metaphor to be found, but I'd rather point out the FEARS banner. Whatever it means to whoever put it up, or whatever it means to you, it's clearly an old Sears Roebuck sign.
That being the case, and the case also being that I'm shaking in my slippers about the election, and don't want to think about it right now, instead, I'll share a limerick with you.
Eric wrote it back in the 90's when Sears was in money trouble and stopped printing their catalog:
She bought cotton undies from Sears,
She'd been doing it that way for years,
With the catalog down,
She must go downtown,
Or, like Sears, she will be in arrears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.