Peace

Far reaching lights to commemorate Les who died on Saturday and my Mother who died 5.11.2002.  Fireworks reminded her of the war, they remind me of her.

We are also thinking of all those who died in the two world wars and in the month of November all those who died that we knew!  So many people to remember!

On a less serious note I did the fable by La Fontaine - Le corbeau et le renard with my student and we looked at the language of the youth of gangs called 'Verlan'.  two syllable words are inversed.  

 "The word l'envers, which means the reverse. Separate l'envers into its two syllables l'en and vers. Invert them, put them together into a single word, and then adjust the spelling and you get the name of the dialect: Verlan."


I was trying to think of equivalents in English and all I could come up with were Cockney rhyming slang in parts of London and Les who could speak with each word spelt backwards!  He and his sister would do this so as not to be understood by parents etc!  Does anyone know of other examples?

A big thank you to 60+ for hosting mono Monday in November.  Her first theme is Far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.