Colchicum cupanii

Even as we move towards winter there are still flowers brightening the garden.  On a mild November morning these little colchicum, about the same size as crocuses but much more weather resistant, were stars of the show.  I raised these from seed about twenty years ago and they've toughed it out in the garden ever since.

Jamie was wiped out after his busy and very successful weekend, he slept until this afternoon!   So we've had  a quiet day at home.  I cleared and filed a lot of accumulated paperwork this morning but on such a fine day the garden called this afternoon.  About the same time as I sowed the colchicum seed I planted a rooted Christmas tree at the end of the garden.  Two decades later there's a thirty foot tree.  Today I ventured another couple of rungs up the ladder and lifted the canopy to around twelve feet off the ground.  It's letting more light through to the greenhouse but I think I've reached the limit of the ladder .... and my head for heights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.