Garden ringing

Calm again for a change and so I put up the nets in my garden to see what I could ring. In four hours, I caught one bird and this was it.
It might not look much, indeed it doesn't,  but it is relatively rare in the UK and I am not sure who was more surprised when I found it in the net, the bird or me.
Its main feature is that is doesn't have any. A couple of faint wing bars are about it, which makes the name Scarlet Rosefinch (rather more prosaically it is now usually called Common Rosefinch) seem a trifle optimistic. I am told that a breeding plumage male is pretty bright and spectacular. This Autumn juvenile was only so by its scarcity value.
It would be fascinating to hear that it has made its way back to its breeding grounds next summer but the chances are slim.
Grimsay fireworks tonight. A chance to stand around a fire in the rain.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.