School Presentation

Today was a bit different, rode to Belmont School in Cheltenham. We, the Riders, had been asked to talk to the children about Remembrance, the Poppy and what it was all about. The Gloucestershire Rep couldn't do it as he works during the week.
Even if I do say so myself it went down very well. Even the small children, of which some were very special needs, seemed to be interested and were very quiet except when I asked questions such as 'Who knows why we use 11 November' or 'Does anyone know any other poppy colours'.
I had a recording of the Last Post and I did the exhortation "They Shall Grow Not Old as We That Are Left Grow Old ......etc. and asked the children that when I said the last line could they repeat it for me (We Will Remember Them). I wasn't prepared for the volume of them repeating it, really made me choke up. In fact, I had quite a few frogs in my throat as I talked about the 'In Flanders Fields Museum' and the number of animals that died, nearly half a million horses plus donkeys and dogs.
I was very pleased overall with the reaction.
In the photograph standing next to me is Iliana Petrova, on the other side is Harry who is in the Cadets and will be attending the Remembrance Day parade on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.