La vida de Annie

By Annie

Cine otra vez.

Another trip to the cinema. This time to see Bohemian Rhapsody for the second time in 5 days, in an original language screening (generally films are overdubbed here) with Spanish subtitles. Despite booking and paying online (a bargain at €4,50 for a ticket), still had to queue to get my virtual ticket converted to a paper ticket, and then queue again (around the block) to get in. The place was heaving with grey-haired expats (hate that term) and the auditorium was so full the only seats left were right at the front under the whole-wall-sized screen, so I came out happy but with a very stiff neck. I don´t know why the film got lukewarm reviews, as the acting, casting and obviously faithful adherence to the facts made it phenomenally good, even for non-Queen fans (I of course have always been a massive one). I've heard that there was pressure to dwell more on the salacious details of Freddie's life rather than focussing on his talent and vulnerability. Thankfully the original band members had executive control and ensured the film honoured, and was true to, his memory.
R.I.P. Freddie Mercury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.