Zwezerik

I will not translate that as it might be confusing.  Whatever you call it in English, though, it sure tasted good!

AW had a day-long bridge drive today and we agreed to eat out afterwards.  Went to the Amrath Hotel at the appointed time, but he had already left to take bridge partner H back home.  He'd picked him up as well, so that was the deal.  Aftwards, though, AW drove back home, and then phoned the hotel to ask if I was 'hanging around'.  He told me to pick him up as he'd heard of a really good restaurant from the other bridge players he'd come across during the drive.  The restaurant was in the Ginneken area, across from a popular pub.  We knew the pub but didn't find the restaurant, and it certainly wasn't this one, but no regrets as the food and the ambience were both fantastic.  They specialize in Scandinavian dishes, but I wouldn't have minded whatever specialty they have, the food was simply fabulous and polished it all off in record time.

Back home, no need to cook or do dishes ... so it was straight to my computer for a few hours of intense overtime in preparation for Block 2, and especially as I was going to teach at the first hour.  By 02.00, I was done.  What stretched it, though, was a constant chat with M, stepcousin's wife, as she gave me a lengthy update about J and his (mis)adventures and not-so-good health, including a blow-by-blow account of a verbal battle between his girlfriend, and another stepcousin's wife, V, which purportedly took place right there in the hospital room, in front of J.  It was V who was supposed to have started it, and the girlfriend, Lynn, was shocked by V's behaviour (to be honest, I wasn't as I have seen this coming for quite some time).  They used to be thick as thieves, but that's past tense.  In the meantime, J, who isn't completely on his feet yet, took his girlfriend's side, of course, and someone left the room in a terrible huff and puff.  So much for that, and I am glad I'm not involved, but I am rather concerned about J's state of mind at this moment.  He can take a lot of things but he's limited, as I've explained before, so the cracks appear in places where no one bothers to take a look.

Block 2 ... here we go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.