Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

There

Driving past the War Memorial in Cumbernauld Village the other day, I caught a glimpse of something next to the memorial cross and wondered what it was. So, on my way to my Ramblers walk this morning, I made a detour into the Village and discovered it was one of these 'There But Not There' silhouettes that must have been installed fairly recently. Blip of the Day, I thought.

I also noticed that a new bower (see extra) had been erected, although the bench that was also due to be installed hadn't yet appeared. The local Community Council had received a grant for these and we're all delighted that at least one of the installations was in place before Remembrance Day. The bower contains 61 poppies, one for each of the local people killed in WW1 and listed on the War Memorial.

A few photos later, I left to meet up with our Ramblers group who were doing a walk from Cumbernauld Town Centre to Luggiebank Wood. It stayed dry and was remarkably mild for the time of year. That was reflected in the turnout: about 37 Ramblers out today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.