CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The River Severn near Epney, looking upstream

A spur of the moment decision took me to the banks of the river Severn after shopping for fresh tofu at the Chinese supermarket. Yesterday I asked Pip what kind of picture did he want me to print for him for his big birthday present, and he said 'one of your views of the banks of the River Severn'. I have to search through my files, but since I was there I thought I would add a few more to choose from.

I don't think he would choose this picture but it is a scene of a place we have previously walked. Here the river bend forces the tide to wash hard against the bank and the sand banks are wide for the last time as the incoming tide flows upstream. From here the river narrows and the Severn Bore can be seen at its best at the right time. I must remember to come back to watch a bore again soon. In the far distance is May Hill and you can just see the circle of trees growing within the circular earthworks on the top of the hill. It lies on the west bank and guards the beginning of the Welsh Marches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.