Autumn Tree

This tree is in our neighbour's garden and I have been watching it change colour for a few days now.  I think it is in its glory now.

If you don't want to hear more about what it's like when dementia gets hold, stop reading now.  One of the reasons I blip is to track my mother's dementia and how we, as a family, get on with it all.  Well, today has been an interesting one.  We went to see Mom and Dad this afternoon to find that Dad had put together a lamp I had had delivered to his house as I know someone would be in there.  For some reason he thought it was his, and seemed to think he had ordered it.  I explained that actually it was mine, but I would order him one if he wanted one.  It all got a bit confused, made worse by the fact that he didn't look at all well and was sitting with his car keys in his hand.  He said he felt sick, so I asked him if he had any lunch (It was after 3pm).  He hadn't.  Neither had mom.  Who thought she was dead and we were all at her funeral and the lamp was to light her up in her coffin.  I made them both a ham sandwich and Mom asked if they were for the funeral...  I think Dad had been so keen to get the lamp built that he forgot to get any lunch, and then felt ill...  We eventually managed to get to the point where Mom and I could laugh about her thinking we were all at her funeral but it wasn't easy...  She really is very confused about so much at the moment. She says she doesn't know where she is or what she is doing at all.  Even when it comes to eating a sandwich, she asks what she is doing and what she should be doing.  It leaves me empty sometimes.  I don't know where to go and how to deal with it, but we  have to find our way to some laughter somehow in this new reality that is ours...

Dad was much better after some food and I went to do a food shop for them so there is now lots of easily accessible food in the fridge for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.