Red-necked Grebe

I worked very hard on a report this morning, but needed a change of pace after lunch so went off for a walk round Ferry Meadows. Chris had visited yesterday and told me there was a rather obliging Red-necked Grebe around, so I put on the telephoto lens in the hope of finding it.

When I arrived its favoured spot was full of men with huge lenses, but it didn't seem to be around, so I went for a walk round the park, photographing the wonderful autumn colours. I was really pleased to see plenty of wigeon (see extra) on Lynch Lake - and to hear their slightly mournful whistling calls. 

By the time I returned to the grebe's favourite spot there was only one man there, and the light had improved enormously. I struck up a conversation with him and we waited for some time until the distant dot decided to come and fish nearby. This is a lifer for me, so had to be blipped! It turned out to be quite a social occasion as I met two friends who'd also turned up in the hope of seeing the bird, and caught up with all their news. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.