Reflections of Poplars

My beloved lily pond is mostly empty now. Gone are the water lilies and the lotus plants. Gone are the fancy bugs and the butterflies. But the water surface is still liquid, and there's plenty of fun stuff to reflect upon it.

The day began with pouring-down rain, but around lunchtime, the rain began to move on out. By mid-afternoon, there were peeks of bright sunshine among dramatic clouds.

I grabbed my camera and jumped in the car for a quick jaunt to the Arboretum. I'd been near there the day before, taking pictures of the golden tree row by the president's lane. And I'd noticed the poplars at the Arboretum; they'd also turned to gold.

So my one and only target on this afternoon was the lily pond, for its reflective surfaces, and that pretty row of poplars. But as I pulled into the parking lot, a huge dark CLOUD showed up and blotted out the sun. RATS!

But I decided to give it a few minutes. And soon the dark cloud began to move away, and the sun came back out again. I finally got to take the pictures I wanted. So here's a glimpse of the row of golden poplars in the bright afternoon sun, reflected upon the lily pond.

The soundtrack is a lovely piano piece by Brian Crain called Reflecting Pool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.