Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Well, that wasn't worth it.....

Had to smile.  I spent part of yesterday collecting leaves in the garden.  We have one more green waste collection before the council suspends the service until April.  At least this year they are collecting in November, last year they suspended the service in mid-October (really helpful!).

Well, as I drew the curtains back this morning it was as if the gremlins had come out in the night and scattered a whole new tree's worth of leaves on the lawn!  I mean, it felt pointless to have bothered!  Of course, I should have realised that with increasing winds and rain forecast for today, this might happen.  One of the main culprits is our lovely acer, so as any good Blipper would do, I turned adversity into an opportunity and got a blip.

Our home phone rang this evening, a rare occurrence these days.  It was sad news to hear that one of Mum's old neighbours had died yesterday.  Ray had lived next door to Mum for almost 30 years, both having retired to the new development in Lichfield.  I had a short chat with his son, found out his Mum was still in the bungalow, although now very frail.  I will pop over in the next few days to extend my condolences.  From our  discussions I realise I won't be able to attend the funeral.  My operation is scheduled before the funeral will take place, and I've been advised I won't be that mobile for some time afterwards.  You might have to get used to even more boring blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.