Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1475. Canada Weeps Poppy Pin

I got this tiny pin when we visited the magnificent Vimy Ridge a few years ago and saw the awe inspiring Canada Weeps memorial from the First World War...there were some youngsters working in the small visitor centre when we were there as part of a school exchange and I remember chatting to them.   They were pleased that I wanted to keep a Canadian pin as a memorial to their dead.....lest we forget......

I took this photo with my camcorder.....well I say my camcorder...it's actually the camcorder that I bought my husband for Christmas last year but he found out that he could no longer simply plug the SD card into our DVD recorder and burn the contents to disk without going through a huge number of steps....it was so unbelievably complicated that he decided that he didn't want 4K video and that he could manage perfectly fine with HD...which he could transfer very easily to disk.  So he went out and bought the model below this one for himself and was going to sell this one in CEX....but it cost me a small fortune and he would have lost about £300 by selling it like this so I asked him if I could just simply keep it and I would use it.  I do have 4K video on all of my cameras and I do film video occasionally but not that much.  But.....this camcorder is actually awesome....and it can get so close to tiny objects that I'm thinking I may start using it a bit more...plus you can take still images in manual mode....it does a lot more that I expected to I'm going to take some time to have a play around with the settings.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.