T Brown's Schooldays

The moon always reminds me of my 8th grade History/English teacher Mr Polk (a relative of the 11th US president or so he claimed, although we used to call him Yoda... due to a resemblance not dysphasia), at my boarding school.

Whenever he was on duty, at "lights out" he'd sing to us -

Mr Moon, Moon, funny Mr Moon
Won't you please shine down on me
Mr Moon, Moon, funny Mr Moon
Come out from behind that tree
You're life's in danger you better run
'Cause here comes Johnny with his gatling gun
Mr Moon, Moon funny Mr Moon
Won't You please shine down on
I said shine down on
Please shine down on me


It's one of the few fond memories I have of boarding school

I have since found out it's some sort of American campfire tune but can't find a any version of it online!

Not a great photo but I've been up again since 3 and the cold isn't getting any better...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.