A cheat Back Blip to brighten up a grey dull day.

It has been a dull and at times drizzly day........and I guess I am missing the sunshine......post holiday. 
As I had a proposed catch up with a friend this morning, I arrived in good time at the Garden Centre in order to replenish the bird-food stocks of mixed seed also the niger seed the goldfinches love. At the moment not having my mobile phone, I had sent her a message via internet two days earlier when she confirmed she would be there at 10.30 a.m.
In the event I consumed a round of toast and jam (yum!) and two cups of tea whilst waiting, watching the ducks on the small pool outside from the warmth inside.
Eventually by 11.00 a.m. I concluded that she was not coming. I drove back home again. 
I had been up early at 7.00a.m. to move our car across the road once more as the gas men were coming along filling in the holes in the pavements outside each house from where they had been installing the new main pipe.
  They have worked hard this past week as school opposite began again on Monday and it is chaotic enough as it is between 8.00 a m. till 9.00 a.m. on weekdays.  I have to say that some of the parents in their large 4 by 4's do not have much patience. 
Parking a little further away and walking does not come into their remit. 
There was only one day this week when it was hard to pass the big lorry dispensing soil and hard core with a small crane grab into the deep holes outside each home. They have had to battle against the clock. A couple of times we have dispensed tea and coffee. 
Once I was home again I sent another message to my friend to see if she was alright. (We will make it another time.) 
     I have today finished my French book. It was such a surprise ending! An amazing crafting of a back story, where the clues were laid along the way but revealed in an extraordinary way at the final chapter. 
    I enjoy the author's style. 
As the rain and wind are gathering strength outside, we are supposed to be promised Storm Deirdre this weekend (!), I decided I would post a picture of Lake Travis taken a week last Saturday. 
Lake Travis is on the Colorado River in Texas and is formed by the construction of the Mansfield Dam by the Lower Colorado  River Authority in 1942 on the outskirts of Austin, Texas. Built specifically to contain floodwaters in a flash-flood prone region.
It is very beautiful and about 65 miles long. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.