Yard Art

I want one for the garden! We could place it so it looks over the neighbor's deck! 
The sky is dull and smoky here--we're getting it from the fires way up north as well as from two of our very own, just north of town. With the exception of a quick run to the garden store, I didn't venture out today. Played in the kitchen instead, with the glut of pineapple guavas (feijoa) from our backyard tree. A couple days ago I made a nice dark spicy chutney, and today I tried jam with cardamom, lemon and vanilla. In both cases I could only find recipes from New Zealand, apparently the feijoa capital of the world, and they are all in metric. "Math is hard, " she said, trying to convert everything. I ended up just combining a bunch of recipes in a way that made sense to me, and it worked--the jam is really tasty with a nice balance of sweet and sour. Didn't make much of a dent in the feijoa crop though. Luckily we enjoy eating them just as they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.