D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Looking for colour

and finding this door again in a narrow street not far from home, but not in my one street. When I blipped part of this door before in summer I noted that there were only a few minutes of sunlight on it, even then. Today there will be none at all but I'm still amused by it every time I pass.

Today is the first day that it's felt as though winter is on its way - cold, grey and wet, but not as cold or grey or as wet as I know people further north are experiencing: see Arachne's watery bus stop, for instance. It's Wednesday and market day but V in the village shop said that it was the quietest day he's known and that no one had been buying food today! I was out for a few minutes in a quick dash in one direction to take a casserole I'd made for a friend who's coming out of hospital today and in the other direction to buy a few necessary food items. I'll stay in the warm for the rest of the day.

We went to a fantastic concert yesterday evening at the Théâtre de Pierres at Fouzilhon - Eloise Alibi, a singer with an incredibly strong and varied voice and stage presence, accompanied by some excellent musicians performing songs, some of them based on poems by Federico Garcia Lorca and Mahmoud Darwish, with Spanish and middle eastern influenced music. Quite an experience and, as always, we thought how lucky we are to have live music of such quality within a few kilometres of home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.