Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Euclidian Memories, Then and Now

524 Euclid Avenue in Toronto has been in the family since around 1958. It will leave the family to other folk at the end of November. Today, I took a tour of the place one last time for old time's sake. Pictured is my mother and father at their wedding reception in January of 1963 in front of the fireplace and mantle which is still in place. I wanted to do a Then & Now kind of shot. It didn't work out as well as I'd hoped but oh well. Most members of our family have lived here at one time or another. I lived here for nine years during my teens and early twenties before marrying Linda. Lots of memories here. Quite the nostalgic and somewhat melancholy experience. So many ghosts...

The stained glass windows and doors were still there, too, as were the old trim, oak staircases, plaster work, and cast iron radiators (still working and quite warm).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.