Not the best place to chrysalise

We had a quick trip north to Snells Beach this weekend. A small family get together last evening, ending quite early. Both of S’ cousins planned on an early rise to watch the direct telecast of England vs New Zealand (rugby union). I was invited to join them, and declined. Pleased that NZ won, and glad I chose against watching a mud wrestle, by the sound of it.

Intrigued to find a pupating monarch attached to the wall in the short passage to the side door of the beach house. Seen on the shoe rack (which also serves as a place to leave my running gear) are my road shoes, shorts and top. Left there last weekend.

When I got back from my jog around the edges of South End, plus going out a bit on the mud flats, I tried to get a photo of a rose which seems intent on changing from a bush rose to a climbing rose. In the process I “interacted”with some swan plants, and did note the presence of a number of monarch caterpillars.

I didn’t notice what must have happened. A large caterpillar got onto my clothes, and therefore cane inside with me. At some point between then and now, it crawled off my gear, off the shoe rack and up the wall, where it has pupated and enclosed itself in a chrysalis.

I hope it survives, emerges when we are there to get it outside, and continues the life cycle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.