The old lie

I've thought hard about whether to use this as my blip today, the centenary of the armistice which saw the end of the 'war to end war'. I can't imagine that many families were spared the agony of seeing young men, and women, go to the front as soldiers or in other service. So it's not that my family was unique. But I decided to use this old photograph as a way to mark the armistice today despite the many, many wars which have taken place since 1918 and the current conflict in the world.

The old Lie;
Dulce et Decorum est
Pro patria mori.

The photograph shows two of my great uncles, brothers DHP and JPGP. On the back is written 1915. It's a wonderful photograph. Both DHP and JPGP survived WW1 - or at least they came back alive and as far as I know physically uninjured. Recently I've been looking for their war records and have found some for JPGP. In fact I've found some relating to him from WW2 as well. So he was living proof that the Great War was not the war to end war. DHP I really don't remember but I do have memories of JPGP.

Wishing you all a peaceful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.