Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Thinking on the Past

It has been a morning of reflection and memories, starting with the memories of a very successful concert last night with my choir, when we sang music intended to provoke thought, from Tippett's Spirituals inspired by the songs of the American Black slaves to an emotive choral setting of Elgar's Nimrod (which was played, as it has been every year, at the Cenotaph this morning).

Thinking on the meaning of today had me taking today's photo, which features one of the ceramic poppies from the 2014 installation at The Tower of London.

Mum and I then watched the Armistice Day ceremony at the Cenotaph on TV instead of heading out for coffee. This inspired me to look-up the details of the one family casulty of war I know of, Gunner William Robert James killed by sniper at the end of WWII - my Nan's sister's child. which makes him my 1st cousin once removed. He is buried  in the Jakarta War Cemetry and today I found a photo of his grave, with the rather lovely inscription:


Resting where no shadows fall in perfect peace he awaits us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.