Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Woodpecker

Well, not the best image I've ever taken!

Thick cloud all day and there's been nothing to invite me outside. I set the camera up in my bedroom with the long lens aimed at a pear tree on the fence line. It's the only tree anywhere near the house, making it a favourite perch for birds on their way to the feeders. Just as I was about to brave the cold and open up the window this Great Spotted Woodpecker arrived. Through the poor light and double glazing I was lucky to get a usable shot, albeit with a filter or two to bring him out from the gloom.

He knew I was there and hid around the back of the trunk so I have about ten shots of barely more than his beak. Thankfully he decided to come round to have a better look at me for a few seconds. The red spot on the nape of his head is the clue to his sex. Females and juveniles have only the red coverts under the tail. If you see one with red on the top of it's head, it's a juvenile.

This one is actually tamer than most. He will glare at me through the window from the bird feeder if he finds it empty. I'm hoping he's has found a new partner after the female was taken by the Sparrow Hawk last year. If he has, she hasn't visited the feeder yet. Early days. It's not that long since I've filled them all again to avoid spreading disease that has hit many of the finches locally and severely decreased their numbers.

My day has been more relaxed than yesterday although still busy. I think I need a perk up to get me over the mixture of weather, work and chores. This is my least favourite time of year and it does deflate my humour. It won't last long and I'll spring back into life soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.