Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Fame!

A day out with Uncle A, this time we went to North Berwick. I haven't been there for ages, but was reminded of what a nice wee place it is. Of course, on a lovely day, anywhere by the seaside is great.

We had a wander along the east beach before lunch at the Seabird Centre. Uncle A, I felt, was not properly clothed for the biting wind, seemingly having a fairly light jacket on, but he claimed it was warm. I, of course, am dressed like Nanook of the North. Only I don't think Nanook would wear purple. Too easily spotted by polar bears!

I sent Uncle A to look in the shops while I fiddled about on the west beach after lunch. There was a lovely big rock there just asking to be blipped. The lady walking along the beach in this shot was standing by the rock when I arrived, gazing out to sea, obviously deep in thought.

I didn't like to disturb her.

But I did.

'Like some fudge?' I asked.

Uncle A had bought some at the shop after lunch and I find a little goes a long way.

She turned, with a slight look of ... surprise, possibly apprehension ... which then turned to another expression - she recognised me!

She accepted the fudge while exclaiming, 'I saw you on the North Bridge yesterday taking photos!'

This I could not deny. I had been in the middle of the road, with my tripod set up, on the pedestrian crossing, while waiting to meet my pal at the French patisserie. Dressed like Nanook of the North. Quite noticeable, really...

Her husband then came along, partook of some fudge and claimed he also recognised me. They were from York, just up for a few days, and it turns out, missing all the wet weather. They come up regularly.

I spied a wee Sandpiper thingie that CBLinks blipped yesterday, and began to follow it along the beach, trying to get near enough. I looked back to see Uncle A, back from his shopping, standing in the wind in his insubstantial jacket. No more fiddling around!

What a beautiful drive back along the coast in the evening sun. Cannae beat it!

PS I was going to clone out the red tarpaulin glowing in the sun. Then I couldn't be bothered. Adds a touch of colour. Red, to be exact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.