Great Uncle Leon, lost in the Great War

My heart is heavy thinking of my grandfather in France on the day the guns fell silent. The terrible war to end all wars was over, but at such price, the loss of his older brother. A brother in arms, in the same unit since they volunteered for the 26th Division, the Yankee Division, 101stInfantry, Company K. Uncle Leon in the photo didn't come home, he was wounded in action and died soon after he was brought in to an aide station with his brother, Clare, my grandfather at his side. 


Many years now I have posted my grandfather's letter home, and I shall do it again, 100 years since a heartbroken young man wrote the hardest letter of his life.


Oct. 4, 1918

Dear Folk at home:

Before this letter arrives you all of course have received the sad letter of Leon's death. Early morning of October 1st he was wounded and died about 20 minutes after in the first aid station. At first the only injury that could be found was in his leg, and we had hopes he would pull through with only the loss of the leg. But he was hurt inside and it was too much for him to stand. He was conscious when he was picked up, but he did not recognize me. I was not on the same front as him but not a great ways from him. We had a fearful bombardment and a shell landed too close. 

It’s a hard blow to us all, and it is a great deal harder for you than me. I have been through so much and seen so much and realized a thing like this might happen. 

Oh to God that it might have been me. You don’t realize how hard it is for me to write and tell you of it. But as God preferred it should have been him this time. There is long still more to pull through of this struggle to come home once more to you all. 

He was our own flesh and blood and dearly loved one. But his time had come and he gave his life for his country willingly. 

As I sit here writing I can’t seem to realize he is gone. But these things are the horrors of war and we must bear up and try and remember that he is still being cared for in another world. We must try and forget and go on with our work as there is lots more undone. 

You will of course write to Lillian and tell her about his death. I will try and write her a letter although I did not know or see much of her, I have heard and known the feelings between them so she seemed like a sister to me. 

I received a number of letters from you all tonight and I can tell you it was hard for me to read them, knowing you were innocent of any happening. 

He was buried in a little town nearby. Later he will probably be taken and put in the divisional cemetery. 

Please bear up dear folks, and not make it any harder for me as my troubles still go on. 


With my whole love, 

Clare

Private Clare E. Josselyn
Company K 101st Infantry
A.E.F. 
Censored by Burham Dell 1st LT. & Chaplain


 He was 22 when this was written. Members of my family have fought for freedom from the Revolutionary War to WWII, a proud Gold Star family in WWI. Please can we just give Peace a chance from now on?

For the Record, 
This day came in cold and clear.



All hands remembering

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.