Roeux & Terlinchthon

Three of my grandad's brothers and one of my grandma's brothers were killed in the First World War. William Steedman is buried alongside 350 others in Roeux, near Arras, Peter Flynn is in one of 3,500 graves in Terlincthon, near Boulogne. From his Grave Registration it looks like his body was reburied after being removed from a cemetery for French War Dead. I really don't suppose he cared too much.
I have a photo of a war memorial in Arras taken in the late 1930's by Peter's nephew when he was serving in the BEF that he sent home to his mum, so I think that's probably where his uncle died. The memorial still stands but it was damaged in WW2, the successor to the war to end all wars.
I wonder if it's raining in Arras tonight? Again, neither William nor Peter will care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.