Remembering

“All war is a symptom of man's failure as a thinking animal.”
John Steinbeck

It was a lovely day here and even took a few photos of the lovely scenes of the last golden leaves of autumn clinging on to lift the spirits.

Did want to crack on with tax returns but was forced out by she who commands to remove a massive clump of water lilies that had loosened itself from the bottom and has not taken up a huge portion of the pond. Thanks to the unusual weather, the goldfish are still swimming at the surface so it was a good opportunity to clear up before they seek winter ice protection. Here one says they need 1.5m depth to survive a normal winter.

The clump was so big that it was only possible to lift it with the tractor frontloader and required several attempts with long chains to get it out. Have removed it to a second pond that doesn't have fish and if it survives winter can think about taking some "cuttings" in the spring. I doubt necessary as there are enough water lilies left but perhaps the colour variation may have gone.

In the evening a few photos came in from daughter Kate out with the family at the Cavan Museum WWI trench exhibition.The entire Cavan Museum looks like a very interesting place. I am lucky to have a daughter and son-in-law who will be able to put the visit in the right context. I am very proud of them all.

“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.”
Benjamin Franklin

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.