The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

C'est La Vie

My friend Helen and I booked a photography holiday earlier in the year - it was prompted from a chat on what we would do for my 40th birthday and Helen suggested a couple of options.  We opted for a tour from Light and Land for a weekend workshop in Paris.

I must say, it was absolutely fantastic.  I'm backblipping now to catch up and still words are failing me to describe the fun, the laughter, the lessons and well, just everything.

Thursday, day 1 - started incredibly early with a 7:50am train from Kings Cross St Pancras International to Gard Du Nor in Paris.  We arrived at the hotel and I think the workshop lead didn't realise these two bumbling girls were part of his group but to his horror he soon realised we were.

After sorting out a minor mix up in our rooms we were ready to go.  The day started in the Montmartre area and we wandered around there for quite a while taking in the sights and the people.  

I'd absolutely love to be able to recount every detail but it's been a jam packed weekend.

We meandered around the area for a while before the group found a cafe in a small square full of artists and as the sun started to fade we went to a lovely rooftop bar where there was a magnificent view of la tour Eiffel ('scuse the French).

I managed to capture a view of it with the sparkle lights going and accidentally, I think, knocked the camera upwards with a reasonable long exposure shot but I think it turned out ok.

After taking some shots up there, enjoying a drink of wine we headed back to the hotel for a quick freshen up and then out to a nearby restaurant where the group had a lovely dinner together.

Amazing food and delightful company.  The group was mostly retired British people, and one american lady.  It was quite an eclectic bunch and the best thing was that all of them had a wonderful sense of humour so there were a LOT of laughs.

Crazy but fantastic first day.

Fell into bed at the end of the evening buzzing with the energy while also feeling satisfactorily exhausted from it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.